Fearless Females Blog Post-March 10: Religion

March 10 — What role did religion play in your family? How did your female ancestors practice their faith? If they did not, why didn’t they? Did you have any female ancestors who served their churches in some capacity?

Religion has played a big role in the life of my ancestors.  In the African American Experience, “Religion” and “Church was always central to their daily lives.

My ancestors have been members of various types of churches. Some of them have been African Methodist Episcopal (AME), Zionist AME, Methodist, Presbyterian, Catholic, Episcopalian, Church of Scientology, and various others.

My ancestors not only attended church but they participated in activities under the hospices of the church. Below is an article, with mention of a few of my ancestors.   Jane Foreman (Great Grand Aunt), Zara Culley (Grand Aunt), Mrs. Jane Collins (2nd Great Grand Aunt).  I believe this article was published in the Worcester Spy.  I am unsure of the date of the article, but I believe it would have to be between 1902-1904 as  Jane Foreman died in April of 1905.

They were celebrating Emancipation Day at the Zion Church.

Emancipation Day Celebrated in Zion Church

Leave a comment