Fearless Females Blog Post-March 6-Heirlooms

March 6 — Describe an heirloom you may have inherited from a female ancestor (wedding ring or other jewelry, china, clothing, etc.) If you don’t have any, then write about a specific object you remember from your mother or grandmother, or aunt (a scarf, a hat, cooking utensil, furniture, etc.)

 

Zara Cully Brown's Chair

When my Aunt Zara Cully Brown died, my mother inherited her dining room tables and chairs, a buffet, china cabinet and this chair. This chair was in my parents living room since 1978, and then when my mother passed away in January 2004, it has been either in my room or the living room.

It really is a pretty chair, but the photo I took was in the dark. I am not sure how old this chair is, but it has to be over fifty years.

Zara was the mother on the tv sitcom, “The Jefferson’s”

2 thoughts on “Fearless Females Blog Post-March 6-Heirlooms

  1. I’m trying to think of what heirloom that I have from a female ancestor. I know that my parents inherited my grandmother’s chinaware (My Dad’s mother.) This great idea to look into.

Leave a comment