Fearless Females Blog Post-March 7: Favorite Recipe

Everyday this month, I will do a post on a female ancestor.  Thank you to the Accidental Genealogist for the Post Prompt.

March 7 — Share a favorite recipe from your mother or grandmother’s kitchen. Why is this dish your favorite? If you don’t have one that’s been passed down, describe a favorite holiday or other meal you shared with your family.

Image

Betty Mae Porter at home being Bartender. About 1972

I really can’t think of any recipes off hand that my mother would use.  She was one of those mother’s that would not measure anything, and would just cook.  Of course she had many recipe books in the home, so I am not sure how much she relied on recipes.

I can tell you one thing for sure, she cooked every night for dinner while I was growing up.  It would be a very rare occasion if she bought anything like fast food.

My mother was an excellent cook!  She always cooked with lots of garlic and onions.  Garlic was on and in everything.

I think my mother improvised quite a bit in the kitchen.  The one thing I miss about her cooking was her soup.  Her soups never tasted the same as the last one she made.  It was always a different variety.  My uncle and dad would call her “Soup Girl.”

She would love to send soup to her friends in the neighborhood, and she would send it home to me and my children.  They loved their Grandma’s soups!

2 thoughts on “Fearless Females Blog Post-March 7: Favorite Recipe

  1. My MOM had to have dinners often. One of my favorite dishes – Stuffed oranges with sweet potato souffle. Beautiful and good.

Leave a comment