Fearless Females Blog Post: March 26-Education

Welcome to my Women’s History Month posts.  Lisa Alzo of The Accidental Genealogist came up with some wonderful prompts for March, and I have been participating.  I have missed quite a few days but will be moving backwards to catch up.

March 26 — What education did your mother receive? Your grandmothers? Great-grandmothers? Note any advanced degrees or special achievements.

My mother Betty Mae Peters was an excellent student.  She earned a dual bachelors degree in Journalism & English from New York University in 1950.  My mother stated that she did not attend her graduation, and had them mail her degree.  When my mother relocated to Los Angeles in 1953, she attended Pepperdine University to earn her Masters degree in Education.

I believe that my mother would be the first in her family, as a woman to earn a degree from any University.

 

Betty Mae Peters in the New York University School Album of 1950. She resided at 460 West 147th Street, New York, N.Y. She was in the Spanish Club; Dramatic Society; Paragon Society; and National Association for Advancement of Colored People.

 

7 thoughts on “Fearless Females Blog Post: March 26-Education

  1. Beautiful photo, beautiful woman, beautiful mind… just like you Yvette! Thanks for the info, do you have any idea why she didn’t attend her NYU graduation? This is amazing… a smart educated black woman. Asserting herself even before the Civil Rights era and the The Civil Rights Act of 1964

    • Thank you! My mother stated she didn’t attend because she just didn’t feel the need to walk during her graduation. I wish I had the real story, but I tend to believe since she mentioned her father trying to come back in her life after 24 years when heard she graduated, that I think that she wanted to avoid him. She had not seen him since she was five years old.

Leave a Reply

