Fearless Females Blog Post: March 2-Photograph

This is one of my favorite older photo’s of my Great Aunt, Hannah Sidney (Cully) Brown. She was born on December 10, 1891 in Worcester, MA. She was a pianist and Jazz singer. She was the second to the oldest child of the Ambrose & Nora Cully Clan.

I chose Hannah’s photo today because I have always been drawn to her, and my mother always talked about her Aunt Hannah, as she was with her when she died. Hannah died on November 25, 1932 in Jacksonville, Duval, Florida of Breast Cancer and I want to remind all women that we must get our yearly mammograms, and do our monthly self-exams to ensure we are taking the right preventions against Breast Cancer!

Hannah and her sister Zara (who played on the “Jeffersons” the tv sitcom) both married Brown brothers. Hannah was married to Elvin Wesley Brown, who my mother called “Unkie”.

2 thoughts on “Fearless Females Blog Post: March 2-Photograph

  1. What a lovely photo. I see the family resemblance to Zara. And yes thank you for reminding us about mammograms and self-exams. So important!

Leave a Reply

