Fearless Females Blog Post: March 18 – Shining Star

March 18 — Shining star: Did you have a female ancestor who had a special talent? Artist, singer, actress, athlete, seamstress, or other? Describe.

So many of my ancestors on my maternal side were talented.  I can’t just pick one.

Hannah Cully Brown: (Jazz Pianist, Poet)- My Great Aunt

Nora Ann Cully: (Jazz Singer, Pianist) My Great Aunt

Nora Ann Gilliam-Cully: (Singer and Pianist) My Great Grandmother

Zara Cully Brown: (Actress, pianist and Elocutionist) My Great Aunt

Zara Gale Buggs-Taylor: Singer (Operatic genre)  Could sing in all genre’s.  She sang for Marian Anderson as a youth. My 1st cousin 1x removed

Agnes Mae Cully-Peters: (Fashion Designer, Pianist) My Grandmother

Mary Gale Brown-Buggs (Dancer) My first cousin

Betty Mae Peters Porter (Singer, Dancer, Acting, and model) My mother

They all performed in church and at community events.  Most family members knew how to play the piano as it was a requirement.

 

Leave a Reply

