Yvette’s Weekly Corner Part #1

So much has happened over the past few weeks, and I wanted to share.  I am not doing as much blogging as I would like to do as I have had to refocus on some priorities.

I am currently enrolled in the Genealogy Certificate Program at Boston University.  I really want to take my love of genealogy to the next level, and thought that this was one way to become proficient in the methods of research.

I have not really held a full-time job most of my life,  as I have been a stay-at-home mother,  and now I currently care for an elderly uncle.  Oh, I have always had temporary jobs, or occupied my time by going to school, but I have never felt so sure about my what I want to do until now.  I want to write, and I want to learn as much as I can in the field of genealogy, with the hopes of finding my niche.

I recently was asked to be a host of a radio show program with a local station in San Diego.  I eagerly accepted as I have made a promise to myself, that I would not turn down any talking engagements.  I made this decision a few years ago, because this allows me to come outside of my comfort zone.  I believe that when we move out of our comfort zone, we can be stretched, which allows us to grow.  The format of the show will be discussing genealogy and family history subjects, with a segment of an interview, and Q & A with listener participation.  As soon as I get my schedule, I will update you.

I can’t forget the wonderful interview I did with Geneabloggers!  I love being a part of this community.  I enjoy reading everyone’s blogs (when I can get around to them), and I enjoy listening to geneabloggers blog talk radio.  I learn so much from all of you, so I want to say “Thank You.”

Well, now it is getting late, and I am flying off to Las Vegas in the morning.  I will be reuniting with my father’s, paternal nephew (Willie)  and great niece (Cheryl).  I did not grow up knowing my Porter side of the family as my father’s mom, ran off the plantation in Lake Providence, Louisiana to California, by way of Little Rock, Arkansas and St. Louis, Missouri.  This thing called Ancestry.com connected us through the family trees.  When I return, I will have a report.  So good night for now, and may all your family searches be fruitful!!!

6 thoughts on “Yvette’s Weekly Corner Part #1

Leave a Reply

