Genealogy Corner: Day #1

     The Year is beginning to wind-up before it winds down, and I have decided to take a mini break from posting my family research until after Christmas.  I have not forgot about my goal to write daily, so I figure I will just post the things I have done for the next few weeks.

     I am going to spend the next few months catching up on some of the reading I had wanted to do throughout the year.  I just started reading the Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave Written by Himself a few days ago.  I am finding the reading quite insightful.

     One reason my interest was peaked in reading about Frederick Douglass, is that I am looking at his family line, because my Peters family had Douglass’s living in their home in Washington, DC. Off the top of my head, which I will go into detail later, the individual was a widow of a Frederick Douglass (not sure if it was possibly Frederick Douglass’s grandson) and her daughter was listed in the household.

     Today I received Pencil Shavings, Memoirs by Olive Higgins Prouty.  I spoke to Olive’s grand-niece Clarinda a few weeks ago, and she suggested that I read the memoirs so that I familiarize myself to the Higgins Family.  I have a continued interest in the Higgins family as My Great Grandfather Ambrose Cully, his in-laws, and his two older daughters worked for the Higgins in Worcester, MA.  I hope to read this book before Summer of 2012 as Clarinda will make some inquiries as to the employment status of my Cully family working for her great-grandparents, and the possible relationship my family had with the Higgins.

2nd Edition
Pencil Shavings

     I will be doing my yearly presentation for the San Diego African American Genealogical Research Group on January 14, 2012.  My presentation this year will be Blogging Your Family History.  I have been blogging for less than a year and so far, I am the only member of this group that blogs their genealogy.  I think it will be very valuable to them to get the information and to possibly become members of Geneabloggers.  I will be putting together a slide presentation, so if anyone has any suggestions, please do not hesitate to give me some pointers.

     I am also going to spend this time to read some blogs I haven’t read in awhile.  There is such a wealth of information out their in the Geneablogger World, and wish I had more time to read everyone’s.

      Well, until tomorrow….Happy Blogging!!!!

Leave a Reply

