Robert Wesley Bunn Sr: Louisiana Farm

Removing items from boxes, organizing, filing and making folders for documents the last few days has allowed me to unearth some items I had forgotten about.  I came across this old photo of my Paternal Great Grandfather Robert Wesley Bunn, Sr. taken at his home in Lake Providence, East Carroll Parish, Louisiana.  
Robert Wesley Bunn, Sr. was born November 26, 1878 in North Carolina.  He died in 1960.
I had seen this photo before but had not looked at the detail because I  said to myself, “I can’t see his face.”  I had no value of the photo at the time, but upon further investigation, I noticed that he was looking out unto his field (farm) and/or observing the bus load of people. It looks to me as there are a few individuals that have burlap bags, and were possibly preparing to go out in the field for the day to pick some cotton, or whatever needed to be harvested.
My grandmother Helen Bunn told me when I was a child that her father had crops of cotton, and tabacco. I believe he was a sharecropper.  When I have the opportunity, I hope to do a little more investigation and find out more about his farming.  
Robert Wesley Bunn, Sr.
Helen Bunn Photo Collection

2 thoughts on “Robert Wesley Bunn Sr: Louisiana Farm

  1. Hi Yvette! What a cool picture. You're lucky to have these great photos. Isn't it funny how we can miss things and each time we look at them, we suddenly notice something that jumps out us? Great post.

Leave a Reply

