Follow Friday & Those Places Tuesday on Saturday: Come with me and Visit New Bern, North Carolina

I am dedicating this blog post to my genealogy friend and Colleague Andrea Kelleher of How Did I Get Here? My Amazing Genealogy Journey  I was swept in by her recent post Those Places Thursday on Sunday: Donnell Hyde Farm, NC

I thought that her idea of using Youtube video’s was a wonderful idea in sharing the history of the towns that our Ancestors lived.  I really wanted to follow her lead and decided to do the same. I am attaching a few  videos of New Bern, North Carolina that I thought was very informative as my family has had deep roots within this historical community.

This first video tells a little  bit about the firsts of Historic New Bern and takes you to the historic homes and buildings within the area.  The video also shares background information of each home and who were the original owners.

This next film is of a Battle of New Bern Reenactment. This battle is reenacted every year. The Union Troops subdued the Confederate Troops early on.

For more information of New Bern, NC history go to this link as a starting point. New Bern North Carolina History

2 thoughts on “Follow Friday & Those Places Tuesday on Saturday: Come with me and Visit New Bern, North Carolina

  1. Wow! Thank you so much for the shout out. It is great to be able to see the places where our ancestors lived via the internet. I have to save up my pennies so I can see it live now. Hopefully next year.

Leave a comment