Slow Down and Read: Death Announcement: William Hope Payne, Jr.

     Searching Ancestry newspapers, I stumbled across William Hope Payne, Jr’s death announcement in the Washington D.C. Post Newspaper dated March 19-21, 1961.  I had no idea that my cousin Gladys Peters had ever been married, but this notice confirmed that she had.
     

     This obituary also allowed me to find my cousin Ralph L Peters and his wife Mozelle, as I was trying to locate them in Washington D.C. (revealing they relocated to Delaware).

     I also knew this was a “family” notice when I saw my cousin Carlotta ‘s name listed.  I also discovered her husbands name, as I did not formally have this information either and I did not know that he was a Reverend.

     The reason I posted this notice is because I am finding that it is very important to read through obituaries and death notices and not just the header name, as there may be clues as to who your family is related to.  It is not always obvious.  I had no Idea that my cousin’s married name was Payne, so had I been in a hurry, or not interested, I would have went to the next notice and lost out on some vital information.

2 thoughts on “Slow Down and Read: Death Announcement: William Hope Payne, Jr.

Leave a Reply

