Those Places Thursday: Downtown Worcester, MA

I went to Worcester, Mass for a Family Research trip in April 2011.  Before I went, I purchased postcards on e-bay to get an idea of what Worcester looked like many years ago.  I took many photos when I arrived in Worcester with my Blackberry, but my phone was damaged, and I lost all of the photos I had taken.  I did my best to find photo’s of what these actual buildings look like today, and had some luck.


My Cully, Gilliam, and Collins Family arrived in Worcester, MA beginning in 1880 and remained there until  1930, Uncle Wendell Cully being the last one to leave moving to New York.

Worcester, MA-Central
http://wikitravel.org/upload/shared/9/96/Map_of_Massachusetts_Regions.png

City Hall
Worchester, MA City Hall
455 Main Street
The Metropolitan News Co, Boston, Mass
Current day City Hall
http://www.worcesterma.gov/city-clerk/elections
Public Library
Public Library-Worcester, Mass-1906
3 Salem Square
[The Metropolitan News Co, Boston, Mass]
Current Picture of Worcester Public Library
http://www.worcesterma.gov/ocm/public-library

U.S. Post Office
U.S. Post Office Worcester, Mass
(Illustrated Postal Card Co., New York Leipzig)
I was not able to find an updated photo of the Worcester, Mass post office.



When I first drove into Worcester, I noticed that the neighborhoods, buildings, and former factories were very old.  I was staying in Boston, so everyday for a week, I would drive into Worcester, and try to see more of the city.  I finally did find the section that was built up and it had a small town city feel to it.  I hope to get back to Worcester so I can take pictures of the places my Ancestors resided.




Copyright

The material, both written and photographic on these pages is the copyright of Yvette Porter Moore unless stated. Material on this site may be used for personal reference only. If you wish to use any of the material on this site for other means, please seek the written permission of Yvette Porter Moore
© 2010-2011

Leave a Reply

