Wordless Wednesday: High School of Commerce, Worcester Mass

This is an old postcard that I purchased on e-bay, showing High School of Commerce in Worcester, Massachusetts.  My Great Uncle Wendell Phillip Culley attended this school between 1922-1925.  He was one of the few African Americans that attended the High School and most of the time he was the only one in his class.  

Postmarked Dec. 27, 1918 w/2 cent stamp

Wendell Phillip Culley played the Cornet.
Wendell Phillip Culley (Only African American)
[1925 School Year Book]
(2nd row from bottom and 4th from left)

There are very few pictures of Wendell Culley [Jan 8, 1906-May 8, 1983]…I went to Worcester April 2011 to make copies of his school annual.  Family members have told me that he rarely was seen in photo’s but since I have been digging and researching, I have been very lucky to find a few more that I will share at a later date.

Copyright
The material, both written and photographic on these pages is the copyright of Yvette Porter Moore unless stated. Material on this site may be used for personal reference only. If you wish to use any of the material on this site for other means, please seek the written permission of Yvette Porter Moore
© 2010-2011

2 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday: High School of Commerce, Worcester Mass

  1. Too bad we didn't connect while Cedric &I were living in Northampton, MA…it's only about 2 hours from Worcestor. I lived in WMA for 25 years, and never got to the coast to visit my cousins, or to do research. I am surprised you were able to travel so far…I would love to have that kind of mobility!

  2. It was a goal of mine to travel for a year or two and do family research..I have a couple more trips to go on. Thank God for a good friend to help me around the house while I ran off to the other side of the country.

Leave a Reply

