Funeral Card Friday: Debra Diane (Mitchell) Griffin

My Aunt Debra was the connection to me and my Fathers side of the family. I had an easier time locating my mother. I was told by my mother that my father had died a tragic death and it was probably in the newspaper. I took a trip to Los Angeles City Library and researched the newspaper microfilm and discovered the actual newspaper clipping of my fathers death.  With the address in the article, I was able to do a cross reference search on the address….The first number I called on the list happened to be my Aunt Debra’s in-laws who lived directly across the street where my Mitchell family lived.

Johnny Roy Mitchell (Bottom)

Aunt Debra was the first person I spoke with on the Mitchell side, and from there we were connected forever.  The Mitchell Clan came to Spring Valley, CA to visit me, and it was a wonderful reunion.  My Aunt Debra was an amazing woman.  She fought cancer the last few years of her life, but in doing so she touched many lives.  I will do more of a story about her at a later date.

Aunt Debra is sorely missed as she was the Genealogist of the Mitchell/Howard Family, and she enjoyed bringing family together.

The middle portion of the funeral card was left out and some names blotted out to protect those that are living that do not want their photo’s published online.

© Yvette Porter Moore-All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

