Betty Mae Peters Journal: Day #8

This is a continued effort to transcribe Betty Mae Peters Journal of 1942.  To read the other posts go to:  Day #1Day #2Day #3Day #4Day #5Day #6 & #7

Betty Peters in Springfield, MA

Day #8
Page #43 (Bottom)
April 27, 1942

Page 43 bottom

Me oh my, how time does fly.  I haven’t written in this little pad in so long that for a moment or 2, I positively forgot it existed.  Instead of writing what “has” happened….

Page 44

…in the life of me since March 1st, I’m sure it would take up much less time and space if I jotted down what hasn’t happened.  However here goes with the latest news.
Directly following Gwennies party, Barbara threw a little shindig that was quite nice.  All the gang minus Jimmy + Lloyd was there and I would have had a fine time if it had not been for Ed Watt who seemingly took a shine to me and wouldn’t give me a moments peace all night. Yesseree Gods I don’t mind being (That is I simply love being) wooed by someone I like but mushy, slushy Ed Watt Phooie!  However, all of my running away was not in vain.  I think….

Page #45

Page 45

…that he’s cured because recently he gave a party to which I was not invited.  I never thought I’d really be glad to miss an invite to a social but this time it was music to my ears!  Gods he’s naucious!!
Item 2 on the list is Dottie’s party as of last Saturday night.  I won’t go into the details lest some prying eyes should fall on this page, and the mouth belonging to the same face owning the eyes should speak a word of it to the outside would, but I will say this much.  I was doggone glad when mother came and took me out of that “place.”  Ruthie has been telling me so much about Robbie Green well I…

Page #46

Page 46

…met him at Dot’s and agree with Ruthie “he’s swell.”   He likes me too.  Well now! That’s something!

I missed the Tovanni’s this year but all who went told me it was fine.  I know it was cause Lois belongs to it.  She’s a peach.  I’m going to visit her before anyone else.  Lord knows I owe her a dozen.  Jimmie T. has finally found her and it looks like a match.  I hope so.  He’s run around with so many drips (and I do mean W.B.) that maybe someone decent can do something decent with him.  Poor lil’ fellah.  He thinks that I’m still angry about the football game.  As if anybody could stay angry with a fellah with all…

Page #47

Page 47

…his personality for very long.  He’s a devil, but I like him.  Ho-hum wonder Billy is.
I have decided that I want to be a Doctor.  It’s the greatest ambition I’ve ever had. Here’s hoping I’ll stick to it and how!  Mother thinks it’s a swell idea! Halp! We agree!!!  (I’ll have to go to Mrs. Barnes in the Main Office (She’s my G.W. 4-7 grade advisor and ask about having my Spanish changed to Latin.
Speaking of Medicine and such mess, I went to the Dentist (for the first time in 7 years) a few days ago.  Dr. Anna Johnson is my dentist; I think she’s swell.  Women make fine dentists I’LL say!!!

Page #48

Page 48

The other day Ruthie and I saw Merle Oberon on fifth Avenue.  She’s stunning!  It was then that I decided to be a doctor.  Her presence gave me inspiration.  But now as I write I still know that if I thought I’d have 1/10 of a chance I’d turn all my thoughts toward Journalism, my true love.  Ah!  Life is a mudda, I can’t make up my mind about anything, career, boys, or anything.  But then there’s more variety in in changing around and oh how I love variety!
Charmaine is still running wild over Nickie Haurnakoff. Note”Twenty years from now, I’m going to have her in stitches teasing her about it.  So help me!
Likewise Muriel and Leslie only they’re both the some color (well almost the…..

Page #49

Page 49

…same) and besides that the feelings mutual.  I can see his pint but not exactly her’s.  The better for her, I’ll never try to steal him.
Ollie Stewart is Australia bound to be a Foreign Correspondent covering the war. Boy, I envy him.  I think maybe I’ll be a Journalist after all, Who knows?
JN is at a new camp, I don’t know where.
Lloyd Rogers has lost his mind again (probably over some girl).  Now he wants to join the Canadian Air Force and die before he’s 26.  Some peoples children!
My little chum (Barbara of course,) spent the weekend in Philly watching Frankie…

Page #50

Page 50

…Dickson (of whom we are all proud) and dozens of other fellas do their stuff in the annual Philly Track Meet.Scottie (Gladys to you) went with her, and they stopped with her friend Valerie.  I’ll have more to tell you  after I see her (She’s coming home tonight) By the way she likes Desmond Margeston, now he’s cute.  I hope this is really a match there, both so cute.  Especially together.
Some G.W. people
Howard Edmead, Sonny Louth, Hatting Cuttingham, Gladys, Chammy of course, Niki, and lots more  but I can’t think of them all.  I’m going to Camp Atiwater “I hope, I hope”

Gee more than anything else in the world right now I want to get to know Richard well. He’s the answer to a Maiden’s prayer. 

Copyright
The material, both written and photographic on these pages is the copyright of Yvette Porter Moore unless stated. Material on this site may be used for personal reference only. If you wish to use any of the material on this site for other means, please seek the written permission of Yvette Porter Moore
© 2010-2011

One thought on “Betty Mae Peters Journal: Day #8

Leave a Reply

