Betty Mae Peters Journal: Day #5

This is a continued  effort to rewrite my mom’s journal before it deteriorates…To read prior days Day #1 Day #2 Day #3 Day #4

Betty Peters was born November 17, 1926 in New York, and was raised in Sugar Hill, Harlem.  Betty attended NYU and double majored in English and Journalism.  Betty left NY in 1953 and moved to Los Angeles and then in later years moved and raised her family in San Diego, CA.  Betty Porter was an Elementary School teacher for over 35 years.  Betty moved on to Glory to be with her soul mate Walter Porter on January 5, 2004 at exactly 12:00am..I miss her everyday, and I am most honored to read her writings…Interesting how when one passes on you understand them better…Miss you Mom!

Betty on Tar Beach overlooking Manhattan

Page #35

Page 35

February 13, 1942

Miss Lombard was a great actress, comedian and a great person.  She was the ex-wife of Min. Powell and the present wife of Clark Gable.  She, her mother, and her press agent and 21 army officials met death when the west bound plane hit a mountain top.  All were burned beyond recognition.  The world lost a great person in losing Carole Lombard.  God rest her soul.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Today is Friday the 13th.  Tomorrow is Valentines day.  I went out this evening and bought a cute card for Mother, but she doesn’t know it yet.  I’ll show it to her tomorrow morning.  Maybe if we start out laughing, the whole day will be pleasant.  Today we all worked very hard,…

Page #36

Page 36

February 13, 1942  (contd)

(me running errands) and we were all very grumpy.  You know how some days are.  I’ll be glad when it’s over.
We are now living in “War Time” savings.  Just like “daylight savings” time the clocks have been set ahead one hour.  When I get up at 7 to go to school it’s really 6.  Gruesome!  Speaking of School, I have been going to the main bldg now exactly 2 weeks and 1 day.  I have fallen right into the general idea and feel quite at home, even on the most crowded trolley.  I jus’ luv it!  Kids at Stitt seem like infants to me now!
Muriel and Leslie are groovy.  Likewise Gwennie and Irving (he’s new to me! but not bad, not bad at all!) Muriels’ had a  fever. In fact…

Page #37

…her temperature rose to 103 and 2/10 degree.  I went to see her today and she’s better now.
The latest thing in my young life is three new boys:

  1. The boy who lives downstairs in Mrs. Bradford’s Apt 52.  I don’t know what his name is ____________yet!

© Yvette Porter Moore-All Rights Reserved 

One thought on “Betty Mae Peters Journal: Day #5

Leave a Reply

