Those Places Thursday: The Hotel Theresa

Old PC bought through e-bay.

I heard my mother talk about Hotel Theresa located in Harlem when I was growing up, as she shared with me that this was one of the hotels that was segregated until the 1940’s.  It was one of those Swanky places.  Between 1913-1940, the hotel would only accept White guests.  In the 1940’s, it was opened to many of the well known African Americans such as Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Lena Horne, etc.

My mother told me that in the 1950’s her mother held some of her fashion shows in the hotel.  I yet to find the documentation, as I have found articles of her shows in other locations around Harlem.

This Hotel is also famous for housing Fidel Castro and his entourage during the opening session of the United Nations in 1960, as other Hotels would not accept his money.  Fidel Castro and Malcolm X met and had conversation at the Hotel Theresa.

Current Day picture dated December 18, 2010.

When I visited Harlem in December 2010, I took this picture of the historically designated city landmark building on the Corner of 125th Street & Adam Clayton Powell.  The building was converted into office spaces in 1971, and is now called, “Theresa Towers.”  This building has a rich history…and I can just hear the walls speak….This building is majestic as it stands against the sky.

Leave a Reply

