Betty Peters Journal (Day 4), January 18, 1942

Betty Peters on Tar Beach, NY
[Jan 4th journal entry continued on Jan 18, 1942]
Page 26 (end)

January 18, 1942

For Those Born Under the Sign of “Scorpio,” or on November 17

“You will get along best with persons born between June 22, to July 22 and Feb. 19 to March 20.”

“Persons who will help you most during your life will be those born between Oct 23 to Nov 21 and Dec 22 to Jan 19.”

“Most of your difficulties will come from or through persons born between March 21 to April 20th and  July 23 to August 22nd.”

Mars, the God of War is your….

Pg #27

page 27

…ruling planet.  You were born in the eighth house of the zodiac which is the house of (Wiels?) and Legacies.  Therefore you may expect a legacy sometime during your life.

“Your chart shows you to be aggressive, determined and energetic.  You have an active mind and are thoughtful, optimistic, and fearless (eh now!!!)  These are some of your inherent good qualities.  However, you may also have some faults that can develop into bad habits.  There are times when you may become pessimistic, vindictive, destructive, and suspicious.  You may delight in making sarcastic remarks (how true!!!) Take inventory of…

Page #28

Page 28

…yourself and realize how much happier and successful you could be if you would learn to develop the more positive and finer tendencies in your nature and eliminate those that are undesirable and may have caused you considerable unhappiness and embarrassment from time to time.

“According to the Science of Astrology, your Lucky day is Tuesday, your luck colors are blue and green (my bedroom is green and rose). your luck flowers are the carnation and the chrysanthemum (I love the latter); your lucky jewels are the opal and topaz (Mother gave me a topaz (my birthstone) for graduation from Stitt last year, June 1941.  I am wearing it now.  I also had a “roof”…

Page #29

Page 29

 …party. Arthur (Arizona) Littljohn was there (eh now!!!); and your lucky numbers are 3 and 6.

P.S. Our house is numbered 4 6 0; We live on the 6th floor and our apartment no. is 63!!! Oh fun! Oh Joy! Oh happy day!

In reading up I found that the following movie stars were born under my sign Scorpio. Oct 23 to Nov 21.

      • Hedy Lamaar
      • Judy Canova
      • Jack Carson 
      • Mary Beth Hughes
      • Ruth Hussey
      • Dean Jagger
      • Veronica Lake
      • Mary Lee
      • Gene Tierney
      • Renee Zucker*
      • Walker Bacon*
*Childhood friends

Page #30

Page 30

Persons I will get along with best: June 22 to July 22, February 19 to Mar. 20 are:
Desi Arnaz, John Carroll, Lou Castello, Martha O’Driscoll, June Preisser, Red Skelton
*Iva Mae Pope

Persons who will help me most during my life are all those on the proceeding page who were born from Oct 23 to Nov 21 and the following (Dec 22 to Jan 19)

Dana Andrews
Lee Bowman
David Bruce
Sussana Foster
Carole Landis

Page #31

Page 31

 Persons I may not get along too well with are those born between Mar 21 to Apr 20, July 23 to Aug 22.  Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!

Alan Curtis
Richard Denning
Stirling Hayden
Frances Langford
Ann Miller
Gene Reynolds
Regis Tommey
Cohina Wright Jr.
Jane Wyatt
(Unkie was born on July 29, but who say’s I don’t adore him?)

Speaking of movies I saw 2 killer dillers this week.  Tuesday the 13th, Mother and I went to see the Maltese Falcon at the (old sock) Washington, cor. 149 and Amsterdam, NYC.

Page #32

Page 32

 Humphrey Bogart and Mary Astor had the leads and were followed closely by Peter Lorre & Elisha Cook, Jr. (The Latter, a newcomer)  The “Falcon” was marvelous.  I give it AAA1/2.  Shortly before I saw the “Falcon”, Ruthie and I went to the RKO Hamilton (Con. 145 & Broadway-City). where “Suspicion” with Joan (Rebecca) Fountain and Cary (Penny Senenade) Grant. Nigel (Dr. Watson) Bruce gave them some competition.  The picture was fine.  I give it also AAA1/2.

Yesterday Ruthie treated me to the Roxy and dinner afterwards. I don’t know when I’ve had such a swell time.  In the lobby we saw the new 3 dimension photo’s  Gee They’re swell.  The picture was “I wake Up Screaming.”  It was one of the best I’ve seen in a long time.  Full of mystery, suspense,…

 Page #33

Page 33

…The stars were:
Betty Grable-ah legs!!!
Victor Mature-Fine Phisique
Carole Landis-Up and coming
There is a new Hollywood star named Laird Cugar who played the insane detective.  He was thrilling.  So was Elisha Cook Jr. (who ended up to be the murderer).  This was my “speed” picture.  It was tense and exciting without being exaggerated and unreal.  The acting was superb and so was Ruthie for taking me.

Last Thursday, I got 9 plus in my (Mr. Martyn, Isham) oral topic.  Mr. Sidafsky informed me that my Geometry average is 90.  Next term when I am in 4th I shall be in the “Alpha” Math Class. That’s the smartest Math Class.  I hope to rate a scholarship certificate…

 Page #34

Page 34

…next term.

Getting back to movies my favorites are now:
Bette Davis
Ida Lupino               }Women
Ginger Ragens

Cary Grant                                   }The Big Six
Errol Flynn
Clark Gable             }Men

In my estimation these are the greatest actors and actresses in Hollywood.  Let’s see how my opinion changes in the future. (My opinion so often changes!!!)

Thousands of movie fans in the U.S, and other countries of the world were shocked and then deeply moved to hear that Carole Lombard was dead!!!


To read previous Diary Posts: Day #1  Day #2  Day #3

Leave a Reply

