"Family Recipe Friday": NEW ORLEANS SHRIMP GUMBO

      

NEW ORLEANS SHRIMP GUMBO

There is also a writing of “Shrimp Wiggle on this recipe, so those ingredients are: Green Peas and Corn.
(Also looking at this recipe, I feel that my mother left some of her seasonings out as she made her food spicy and cooked with lots of Garlic.  I know her rue was slamming!)

     My mother Betty Mae “Peters” Porter loved to cook!  She considered herself a gourmet cook, and many of her friends thought so too.  She became known as the “Soup Girl.” She loved to entertain, and in her own words she would say, “Cooking helps me to unwind after a long day at work.”

     One of my mother’s specialties was File’ Gumbo, but I do not have the recipe in reach, but knew exactly where her New Orleans Shrimp Gumbo recipe was.  My mother who’s family was from New England did not make Gumbo, but about 50 years ago my mom’s friend Yvonne Greene from New Orleans taught her how to make it.  We would have Gumbo for special occasions such as Christmas or even Thanksgiving.  There would be a large pot cooking on the stove to feed about 40 to 50 guests.  The recipe below will serve six adults.  I hope you enjoy!

New Orleans Shrimp Gumbo (Serve 6)
2 lbs Shrimp
1 red pepper pod
1 tsp. salt
1 cup green onion tops chopped
2 tbsps. bacon fat
1 bay leaf
1 tbsp. file powder
6 cups chicken broth or bouillon
1 bunch of green onions
1 tsp thyme
2 cups okra chopped
1 green pepper
2 cups chopped tomatoes

Lightly brown chopped okra and chopped onions in bacon fat in Dutch Oven.
Add tomatoes and cook 5 minutes over low heat.
Add chicken broth, chopped red pepper and chipped green pepper, bay leaf shredded fine, chopped onion tops, thyme, and salt.  (My Mother would also add garlic and other seasonings to taste).  It would be bland if you did not add seasonings.
Bring to a boil.
Then add shrimp in halves, shelled and cleaned.
Cook over very low flame about an hour-and-a-half.
Turn off burner, add file powder
Serve with rice.
(I noticed my mother did not add the okra, in the cooking of the recipe, but I remember her telling me that I should add the okra towards the end of the cooking so that the Gumbo would not be slimy.  Some people do not like the way okra is and will become slimy if it is cooked too long.)
(Also, not everyone like File’ Powder, so it is wise for each individual to add it according to their taste.)

© Yvette Porter Moore-All Rights Reserved

2 thoughts on “"Family Recipe Friday": NEW ORLEANS SHRIMP GUMBO

Leave a Reply

